Grateful Dead:
Dave's Picks Vol. 18
Orpheum Theatre, S.F., CA
(7/17/76 + 7/16/76)

CD465 - 3 CD + bonus CD
Rhino, 2016

Go to the Shop



Grateful Dead: Dave's Picks Volume 18
Orpheum Theatre, S.F., CA (7/17/76)
disc 3 + subscribers' bonus CD (7/16/76)

"Dave's Picks 18 is a show that Dick Latvala turned me onto in 1999, which Dick had had his ear on for a long time. It's a very different 1976 show, with more of a 1974 vibe, and features spectacular versions of "Comes A Time," "The Other One," "Sugaree," and a 15-minute "Not Fade Away" as the second encore. Add to this the bonus material from the previous night's show along with that show's second set jam sequence on the Bonus Disc, and 2016 subscribers will be receiving pretty much a 2-show, 4-CD box set of two terrific nights in the Summer of 1976 in the band's hometown."
David Lemieux

We're not only headed back to the Bay Area with the release of July 17, 1976, the 5th of a phenomenal six-night run at the Orpheum Theatre, but back to the basics - smaller venues, lighter loads (post-Wall of Sound) - and the results are electric! While the operations may have been stripped down, the Grateful Dead and their music were anything but. 7/17/76 packs plenty of surprises from the Chuck Berry bookends of the first set to the double encore featuring one the finest versions of 'Not Fade Away' you're likely to hear, clocking in at almost 15 minutes. The hour-plus seamless second set jam includes a dream setlist, featuring such classics as "Comes A Time," "Eyes Of The World," "Goin' Down The Road Feeling Bad," and a recurring "Other One" that takes us on some spectacular journeys. The venue's superior acoustics coupled with the band's tight intuitive playing lend to a warmer sound and plenty of golden moments. A short one, we've rounded Dave's Picks Volume 18 out with a handful of favorites from the previous night's first set, including a magical coupling of "The Music Never Stopped>Scarlet Begonias".

Disc 1
1. Promised Land [4:37]
2. Mississippi Half-Step Uptown Toodeloo [9:42]
3. Mama Tried [3:04]
4. Deal [5:03]
5. New Minglewood Blues [4:58]
6. Peggy-O [9:14]
7. Big River [6:23]
8. Sugaree [11:30]
9. Johnny B. Goode [4:24]
10. Samson And Delilah [7:41]

Disc 2
1. Comes A Time [16:00]
2. Drums [1:39]
3. The Other One [5:46]
4. Space [10:00]
5. Eyes Of The World [7:37]
6. Jam[7:21] 7. The Other One [3:36]
8. Goin' Down The Road Feeling Bad [7:10]
9. One More Saturday Night [6:12]
10. U.S. Blues [7:16]

Disc 3
1. Not Fade Away [14:26]
2. Big River [7:02]
3. Brown-Eyed Women [5:50]
4. Looks Like Rain [7:35
5. Peggy-O [9:19]
6. The Music Never Stopped [5:53]
7. Scarlet Begonias [10:56]
8. U.S. Blues [6:33]

3 Disc set
Limited to 16,500 individually numbered copies
Mastered to HDCD specs by Jeffrey Norman
Digipak made of 100% recycled and PCW materials
Release Date:May 1, 2016