Grateful Dead: Jerry's Last Stand Soldier Field Chicago (7/9/95)

CD575 - 2 CD
Left Field Media

Go to the Shop



Grateful Dead: Soldier Field, Chicago (7/9/95)

JERRY GARCIA S FINAL CONCERT WITH THE GRATEFUL DEAD When Jerry Garcia took to the stage with the Grateful Dead on July 9th 1995, he was very sick indeed. It was easy to tell - his pallid face and shaky demeanour denoted a man under serious stress. Yet still, he soldiered on and took to the stage at Soldier Field in Chicago for the final time. Of course, as with any Dead gig, there were many sections of pure musical bliss when Garcia was in the zone and carried by his passion for the music he played. This odd night was concluded with a sad moment as The Grateful Dead performed the all-too-apt Box of Rain leaving Phil Lesh to sing Such a long, long time to be gone, as the audience left the arena, and a short time to be there. I had a feeling he was going to swing back out of it, and he was actually trying to do that when his heart quit, fellow Dead member Bob Weir said in 2014. He was pressing a bit harder, I think, than his body could keep up with. Sadly, it would not be the case, Jerry Garcia died in his sleep on August 9th 1995, a week after turning 53. Now released for the first time on this double CD - despite its noticeable flaws as a concert the sound remains excellent coming as it does from an FM Radio Broadcast, and the entire proceedings go down in history as an equally important show as the one at which Jerry Garcia first played with the band.

* Label : Left Field Media
* ASIN : B08DBNH587
* Number of discs : 2


1. Touch Of Grey 7:35
2. Little Red Rooster 7:44
3. Lazy River Road 7:07
4. When I Paint My Masterpiece 5:49
5. Childhood's End 4:43
6. Cumberland Blues 4:42
7. Promised Land 4:35
8. Shakedown Street 14:16
9. Samson And Delilah 7:50
10. So Many Roads 11:46

1. Samba In The Rain 6:45
2. Corrina 14:46
3. Drums 15:52
4. Space 11:17
5. Unbroken Chain 7:02
6. Sugar Magnolia 9:28
7. Black Muddy River 5:17
8. Box Of Rain 4:55

The Band: Jerry Garcia Guitar, Vocals - Bob Weir Guitar, Vocals - Phil Lesh Bass, Vocals - Bill Kreutzmann Drums - Mickey Hart Drums - Vince Welnick Keyboards, Vocals