Grateful Dead:
Dave's Picks Vol. 27
Boise, Idaho (9/2/83)

CD525 - 3 CD
Rhino R2-565021 - 2018

Go to the Shop



Grateful Dead: Dave's Picks Volume 27
BSU Pavilion, Boise State University, Boise, Idaho 9/2/83

"The Grateful Dead picked up their instruments and hit the first note with perfection. They never missed a note for the next three and one-half hours. People followed the flow of the tunes. Down on the floor in front of the stage was a sea of heads keeping time with the music. No one sat still. No one, except the youngsters behind us sat still. They were still and stunned." - The Power County Press

And what a stunner it was, that show at the Boise State University Pavilion in Boise, ID on September 2, 1983. Dave's Picks Volume 27 contains every stitch of music from this mid-80s show (our first in this series), one that's as good as any other in Grateful Dead history. When the Dead were on, they were ON! Straight out the gate with a definitive take on the old standard "Wang Dang Doodle," the band swiftly switches back to a setlist of yore, firing off 70s staples like "Jack Straw" and "Brown-Eyed Women" and wrapping things up with a terrific trio of "Big Railroad Blues"/"Looks Like Rain"/"Deal" (don't you let that epic guitar solo go down without you). Primed for the second set, they tackle the complexities of "Help>Slipknot!>Franklin's" with heart and ease. It's clear there will be no stopping their flow - Bobby and Brent hanging in for a fantastic pre-Drums "Jam" and Jerry and Bobby in the zone on a not-to-be-missed melodic "Space." Not a skipper in the whole lot!

Dave's Picks Volume 27 has been mastered to HDCD specs by Jeffrey Norman and it is limited to 18,000 individually-numbered copies.

Listen to Dave Lemieux' seaside chat:

Track List

Disc 1
1. Wang Dang Doodle>
2. Jack Straw
3. They Love Each Other
4. Mama Tried
5. Big River
6. Brown-Eyed Women
7. New Minglewood Blues
8. Big Railroad Blues
9. Looks Like Rain>
10. Deal

Disc 2
1. Help On The Way>
2. Slipknot!>
3. Franklin's Tower
4. Estimated Prophet>
5. Eyes Of The World>
6. Jam>
7. Drums

Disc 3
1. Space>
2. Throwing Stones>
3. Goin' Down The Road Feeling Bad>
4. Black Peter>
5. Sugar Magnolia
6. It's All Over Now, Baby Blue

3 Disc set
Limited to 18,000 individually numbered copies
Mastered to HDCD specs by Jeffrey Norman
Digipak made of 100% recycled and PCW materials
Release Date: August 1, 2018