Grateful Dead: The Wharf Rats Come East (2/20/71)

CD511 - 2 CD

Go to the Shop



Grateful Dead: The Wharf Rats Come East,
Capitol Theatre, Port Chester, N.Y. 20th February 1971

20th February 1971 show From the band's run at the Capitol Theatre in Port Chester, New York. The six night run, which extended from the 17th - 23rd (six shows across seven nights), marked the beginning of Mickey Hart's temporary departure from the band; his last show with the Dead was on 17th February 1981, until his return on 20th October 1974. The 20th February concert included the second ever appearance of the classic Wharf Rat, a song that later gave name to Deadheads who were living alcohol and narcotic free. The opening act for this series of concerts was New Riders Of The Purple Sage, which at the time featured Jerry Garcia on pedal steel guitar.


Disc 1
1. Casey Jones 4:44
2. Me And My Uncle 3:23
3. Hard To Handle 7:58
4. Bertha 5:45
5. Playin' In The Band 5:09
6. Bird Song 7:05
7. Big Boss Man 5:07
8. Cryptical Envelopement/Drums/The Other One 16:44
9. Wharf Rat 7:13
10. Sugar Magnolia 5:59

Disc 2
1. Truckin' 7:59
2. Loser 6:33
3. Next Time You See Me 3:33
4. The Greatest Story Ever Told 4:11
5. Johnny B. Goode 3:35
6. Ripple 4:31
7. Not Fade Away/Goin' Down The Road Feelin' Bad 14:35
8. Turn On Your Love Light 24:37

Number of Discs: 2
Label: Left Field Media
ASIN: B077HP64D6