Grateful Dead:
Dave's Picks Vol. 24
Berkeley, CA. (8/25/72)

CD510 - 3 CD
Rhino R2-557456 - 2017

Go to the Shop



Grateful Dead: Dave's Picks Volume 24
Berkeley Community Theatre, August 25th, 1972

We're wrapping up this year's Dave's Picks series with one from the Grateful Dead's beloved Bay Area. An often overlooked gem from '72 (who's to blame with that rich pool of excellence), 8/25/72 Berkeley Community Theatre finds the Dead laid back and in the comfort zone of home. While one might think this would make the night too relaxed, the band fall in line with their "West Coast best" paradigm. The output is fresh, reaching the outer depths on repertoire classics like "The Other One" and "Playing In The Band" and finding the intricately nuanced heart of emotive numbers like "He's Gone" and "Bird Song." Fans of Europe '72 and Veneta, Oregon will not be disappointed! This complete show was recorded by Owsley "Bear" Stanley, has been mastered to HDCD specs by Jeffrey Norman, and features photos by Michael Parrish, tour notes from the road, and original illustrations from Dave Van Patten.

Track List

Disc 1
1. Cold Rain And Snow [7:46]
2. Black-Throated Wind [6:19]
3. He's Gone [10:16]
4. Beat It On Down The Line[3:26]
5. Loser [8:29]
6. El Paso [4:56]
7. Black Peter [9:12]
8. Jack Straw [5:01]

Disc 2
1. Friend Of The Devil [4:10]
2. Promised Land [3:37]
3. Bird Song [11:25]
4. Playing In The Band [16:48]
5. Bertha [6:40]

Disc 3
1. Truckin' [16:02]
2. The Other One [28:03]
3. Stella Blue [9:03]
4. One More Saturday Night [5:46]
5. Sugar Magnolia [7:57]

3 Disc set
Limited to 16,500 individually numbered copies
Mastered to HDCD specs by Jeffrey Norman
Digipak made of 100% recycled and PCW materials
Release Date: November 1, 2017