Grateful Dead: Winterland June 1977 - The Complete Recordings

CD368 - 9-CD Box Set
Grateful Dead Productions, 2009

Go to the Shop



Winterland June 1977:
The Complete Recordings

Winterland June 1977: The Complete Recordings presents the legendary 3-night run (June 7, 8, 9) that marked the band’s triumphant return from one of the greatest tours in rock ’n’ roll history. Winterland’s relaxed atmosphere truly brings out the best as the guys deliver six inspired sets of free-flowing creativity and peak musicianship. Scroll down to see all the tracklists.

At this point, we probably don’t need to hype you on the glories of ’77 Dead. It was a magical time for the band, which was reinvigorated by a plethora of great new material—“Terrapin,” “Estimated Prophet,” “Passenger,” “Fire on the Mountain”—and really hitting its stride again following the October ’74 to June ’76 performing hiatus. The group spent much of the first three months of 1977 recording their Terrapin Station album with producer Keith Olsen, and Garcia also managed to find time to complete the much-anticipated Grateful Dead movie (which opened June 1, 1977). The third week of April, the band embarked on what most Dead Heads agree was one of the greatest tours ever: 26 concerts in the East and Midwest in a little over a month—an awesome stretch that produced so many great shows, a few of them already released in the Dick’s Picks series and subsequently (and more, no doubt, destined to come out down the road.)

So when the Dead returned to San Francisco’s Winterland for shows on June 7, 8, 9, they were pumped up and feeling good! They treated their hometown fans to three superb concerts that included excellent versions of much of their current repertoire, from the new combo of “Scarlet Begonias” > “Fire on the Mountain,” to a truly colossal, more than 30-minute “Help on the Way” > “Slipknot!” > “Franklin’s Tower,” “Saint Stephen,” “Terrapin,” “Good Lovin’,” “Not Fade Away,” “The Other One”… too many favorites to mention (you can see the complete song lists below).

Winterland June 1977: The Complete Recordings contains every note recorded from the three shows, more than nine hours of prime Dead, all taken from the master analog tapes, restored using the Plangent Processes, and mastered in HDCD by that inimitable sonic tweakster, Jeffrey Norman. The nine discs are packaged in a beautifully designed box that includes artwork by Emek (you loved his crazy Winterland ’73 phantasmagoria); a 28-page booklet featuring a wonderful and illuminating new essay by Rolling Stone senior music editor David Fricke (who dubs this a “box of paradise and circus… six complete sets of inspired risk and collective explosion”); lots of great Winterland action shots by noted GD shutterbugs Ed Perlstein and Bruce Polonsky; and a couple of little pieces of period memorabilia we won’t reveal here.

Product Details: · 9-CD set featuring three consecutive Winterland shows (over 9 hours of music) · Mind-bending artwork from acclaimed artist Emek · 28-page booklet with essay by David Fricke.

Track List

CD 1: Winterland, June 7, 1977
1. Bertha
2. Jack Straw
3. Tennessee Jed
4. Looks Like Rain
5. Peggy-O
6. Funiculi Funicula
7. El Paso
8. Friend of the Devil
9. The Music Never Stopped

CD 2: Winterland, June 7, 1977
1. Scarlet Begonias>
2. Fire On The Mountain>
3. Good Lovin'
4. Candyman
5. Estimated Prophet>
6. He's Gone>
7. Drums

CD 3: Winterland, June 7, 1977
1. Samson and Delilah>
2. Terrapin Station>
3. Morning Dew>
4. Around and Around
5. Uncle John's Band
6. U.S. Blues

CD 4: Winterland, June 8, 1977
1. New Minglewood Blues
2. Sugaree
3. Mexicali Blues
4. Row Jimmy
5. Passenger
6. Sunrise
7. Brown-Eyed Women
8. It's All Over Now
9. Jack-A-Roe
10. Lazy Lightning>
11. Supplication

CD 5: Winterland, June 8, 1977
1. Bertha>
2. Good Lovin
3. Ramble On Rose
4. Estimated Prophet>
5. Eyes of the World>
6. Drums

CD 6: Winterland, June 8, 1977
1. The Other One>
2. Wharf Rat>
3. Not Fade Away>
4. Goin' Down The Road Feeling Bad>
5. Johnny B. Goode
6. Brokedown Palace

CD 7: Winterland, June 9, 1977
1. Mississippi Half-Step Uptown Toodeloo
2. Jack Straw
3. They Love Each Other
4. Cassidy
5. Sunrise
6. Deal
7. Looks Like Rain
8. Loser
9. The Music Never Stopped

CD 8: Winterland, June 9, 1977
1. Samson and Delilah
2. Funiculi Funicula
3. Help On The Way>
4. Slipknot!>
5. Franklin's Tower

CD 9: Winterland, June 9, 1977
1. Estimated Prophet>
2. Saint Stephen>
3. Not Fade Away>
4. Drums>
5. Saint Stephen>
6. Terrapin Station>
7. Sugar Magnolia
8. U.S. Blues
9. One More Saturday Night