Grateful Dead: Rocking the Cradle, Egypt 1978

CD359 - 2-CD set + DVD
+ bonus CD
Rhino, 2008

Go to the Shop




Rockin' the Cradle
2-CD / 1-DVD set

In the fall of 1978, the Grateful Dead embarked on an unprecedented journey to rock the Cradle of Civilization. Thirty years later, we commemorate this legendary trip with a 2-CD / 1-DVD set brimming with unreleased audio and video. Recorded September 15-16, 1978 at the Gizah Sound and Light Theater, the original 24-track recordings have been remastered in HDCD for superior sound quality.

The DVD features more than 100 minutes of footage including 13 songs from the final Egypt show, as well as a featurette titled The Vacation Tapes containing never-before-seen candid footage from the trip. Special pyramid-inspired pop-up packaging includes rare photos and liner notes by longtime Dead associate Alan Trist.

Track Listing

Disc 1
1. Jack Straw
2. Row Jimmy
3. New, Minglewood Blues
4. Candyman
5. Looks Like Rain
6. Stagger Lee
7. I Need A Miracle
8. Itís All Over Now
9. Deal

Disc 2
1. Ollin Arageed
2. Fire On The Mountain
3. Iko Iko
4. Shakedown Street
5. Drums
6. Space
7. Truckiní
8. Stella Blue
9. Around And Around

DVD Track Listing
1. Bertha
2. Good Loviní
3. Row Jimmy
4. New, Minglewood Blues
5. Candyman
6. Looks Like Rain
7. Deal
8. Ollin Arageed
9. Fire On The Mountain
10. Iko Iko
11. I Need A Miracle
12. Itís All Over Now
13. Truckiní Featurette: The Vacation Tapes