Grateful Dead - Dick's Picks 29

CD213 - 6 CD box set

Go to the shop



Grateful Dead - Dick's Picks 29

6 CD set composed of two shows from 1977: 5/19/77 at the fabulous Fox Theatre in Atlanta, GA, and 5/21/77 from the Lakeland Civic Arena in Lakeland, FL. HDCD.

Jerry Garcia - Lead Guitar, Vocals
Donna Jean Godchaux - Vocals
Keith Godchaux - Keyboards
Mickey Hart - Drums
Bill Kreutzmann - Drums
Phil Lesh - Bass, Vocals
Bob Weir - Rhythm Guitar, Vocals

Fox Theatre, Atlanta, GA

Disc One
1 Promised Land 6:14 Berry
2 Sugaree 16:21 Garcia, Hunter
3 El Paso 5:04 Robbins
4 Peggy-O 8:34 Trad. Arr. By Grateful Dead
5 Looks Like Rain 8:59 Weir, Barlow
6 Row Jimmy 11:20 Garcia, Hunter
7 Passenger 3:59 Lesh, Monk
8 Loser 8:38 Garcia, Hunter

Disc Two
1 Dancing In The Streets 13:47 Stevenson, Gaye, Hunter
2 Samson and Delilah 8:00 Trad. Arr. By Bob Weir
3 Ramble On Rose 8:38 Garcia, Hunter
4 Estimated Prophet 10:09 Weir, Barlow

Disc Three
1 Terrapin Station 11:43 Garcia, Hunter
2 Playing In The Band 11:07 Weir, Hart, Hunter
3 Uncle John's Band 11:47 Garcia, Hunter
4 Drums 5:28 Hart, Kreutzmann
5 The Wheel 7:24 Garcia, Kreutzmann, Hunter
6 China Doll 7:50 Garcia, Hunter
7 Playing In The Band 10:33 Weir, Hart, Hunter

Lakeland Civic Center Arena, Lakeland, FL

Disc Four
1 Bertha 7:22 Garcia, Hunter
2 Me and My Uncle 3:52 Phillips
3 They Love Each Other 8:10 Garcia, Hunter
4 Cassidy 5:21 Weir, Barlow
5 Jack-A-Roe 7:00 Trad. Arr. By Grateful Dead
6 Jack Straw 6:13 Weir, Hunter
7 Tennessee Jed 9:41 Garcia, Hunter
8 New Minglewood Blues 5:38 Trad. Arr. By Bob Weir
9 Row Jimmy 11:28 Garcia, Hunter

Disc Five
1 Passenger 4:15 Lesh, Monk
2 Scarlet Begonias 11:44 Garcia, Hunter
3 Fire On The Mountain 12:53 Hart, Hunter
4 Samson and Delilah 7:45 Trad. Arr. By Bob Weir
5 Brown-Eyed Woman 5:32 Garcia, Hunter

Disc Six
1 Estimated Prophet 11:27 Weir, Barlow
2 He's Gone 15:36 Garcia, Hunter
3 Drums 4:09 Hart, Kreutzmann
4 The Other One 11:39 Weir, Kreutzmann
5 Comes A Time 11:52 Garcia, Hunter
6 St. Stephen 4:37 Garcia, Lesh, Hunter
7 Not Fade Away 11:15 Petty, Hardin
8 St. Stephen 1:46 Garcia, Lesh, Hunter
9 One More Saturday Night 5:01 Weir

Recorded by Betty Cantor-Jackson
CD Mastering Jeffrey Norman
Tape Archivist David Lemieux
Archival Research Eileen Law/Grateful Dead Archives
Cover Art & Package Design by Robert Minkin
Photography by Jim Anderson ©2003

Dick’s Picks may still be one edition shy of its thirtieth release and its tenth anniversary, but why not start the celebration early? Volume 29 in this acclaimed series of treasures from the Vault is the most generous helping of Dick’s Picks yet — a staggering six compact discs’ worth, delivering about seven hours of optimal Grateful Dead from what is widely regarded as one of the band’s all-time peak periods as a performing unit.

When the Dead embarked on their Spring tour in 1977, all traces of road rust from their mid-decade hiatus had vanished, and the band was playing with as much passion, energy and creativity as at any time in its long history. One factor that contributed greatly to the consistent excellence of the Dead’s live offerings during this period was the obvious pleasure and inspiration the band derived from exploring the batch of superb new material that had been created and developed in the preceding months for inclusion on the Terrapin Station album. This was especially true of two new original pieces: “Estimated Prophet,” Bob Weir and John Barlow’s sharply observant character study of an edge-dwelling soul walking that ever-blurry line between revelation and delusion — a song whose marriage of sinuous reggae groove and jazzish 7/4 time signature made it an ideal vehicle for extended improvisation (and which is heard in two different versions on DP29); and the “Terrapin Station” suite, an epic work quite unlike any other in the annals of the Jerry Garcia-Robert Hunter collaboration — an ambitious, sprawling meditation on themes of courage, inspiration and the art of the storyteller, set to music that escalates from a lilting folk ballad to a titanic instrumental theme built on a monster guitar hook.

Those newer songs, combined with great performances of the more familiar pieces in the band’s repertoire, almost invariably left listeners awestruck in the Spring of ‘77, and the audiences in Atlanta and Lakeland were no exception. It’s all here, digitally mastered from the original two-track analog source tapes: two damn-near-complete shows — the lone exception being an encore from Lakeland that missed the cut — but you never know where you might find a bit of hidden treasure to compensate for that little omission (word to the wise: as is so often the case in the world of the Grateful Dead, there’s more here than meets the eye!)

HDCD provides higher resolution when played in an HDCD-equipped CD player, and offers superior sound when played in regular CD players. HDCD CDs can be played in all CD players.