The Grateful Dead:
Built To Last

CD145 - Arista 1989

Go to the shop



Built To Last

1. Foolish Heart
2. Just A Little Light
3. Built To Last
4. Blow Away
5. Victim Or The Crime
6. We Can Run
7. Standing On The Moon
8. Picasso Moon
9. I Will Take You Home

10. Foolish Heart (Live)
11. Blow Away (Live)
12. California Earthquake (Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin’ On) (Live)

Blair Jackson's review: **½
copyright: www.blairjackson.comm


The Dead's last studio album is a motley affair dominated by Brent's songs, two of which — "Just a Little Light" and "I Will Take You Home" — are excellent. The percolating "Foolish Heart" is Garcia's best track on the album. "Standing on the Moon" is a great song, but it isn't nearly as emotional on the album as it always was live. Putting "Blow Away" and "Victim or the Crime" on the same album was more than I could bear when the record came out, but I came to like "Victim" for the most part. The best songs from this CD are also collected on The Arista Years.