The Grateful Dead:
Go to Heaven

CD143 - Arista 1980

Go to the shop



Go to Heaven

1. Alabama Getaway
2. Far From Me
3. Althea
4. Feel Like A Stranger
5. Lost Sailor
6. Saint Of Circumstance
7. Antwerp’s Placebo (The Plumber)
8. Easy To Love You
9. Don’t Ease Me In

10. Peggy-O (Studio Outtake)
11. What’ll You Raise (Studio Outtake)
12. Jack-A-Roe (Studio Outtake)
13. Althea (Live)
14. Lost Sailor (Live)
15. Saint Of Circumstance (Live)

Blair Jackson's review: **½
copyright: www.blairjackson.comm


Producer Gary Lyons did a nice job of recording the band; unfortunately most of the material hadn't been played much onstage yet, so the songs sound "young" in Grateful Dead terms. The zippy "Alabama Getaway," which was nearly a hit single, is still fun and frisky. Most of the other highpoints are in Weir's songs — "Lost Sailor," "Saint of Circumstance" and "Feel Like a Stranger."