The Grateful Dead:
Dead Set

CD117 - Arista 1981

Go to the shop



Dead Set

Disc 1:
1. Samson And Delilah
2. Friend Of The Devil
3. New Minglewood Blues
4. Deal
5. Candyman
6. Little Red Rooster
7. Loser
8. Passenger
9. Feel Like A Stranger
10. Franklin’s Tower
11. Rhythm Devils
12. Space
13. Fire On The Mountain
14. Greatest Story Ever Told
15. Brokedown Palace

1. Let It Grow
2. Sugaree
3. C.C. Rider
4. Row Jimmy
5. Lazy Lightnin’
6. Supplication
7. High Time
8. Jack Straw
9. Shakedown Street
10. Not Fade Away

Blair Jackson's review: **½
copyright: www.blairjackson.comm


I was tremendously disappointed by this electric counterpart to Reckoning when it came out. It consists mostly of unadventurous (and edited) versions of first-set tunes, though the band stretches out a bit on "Feel Like a Stranger," "Franklin's Tower" and "Fire on the Mountain." A double-album when it was released, it now fits on one-CD (minus "Space") and it flows much better as a show on CD. But considering what was available to the Dead from the Radio City and Warfield shows, this still feels overly safe and tame.