The Grateful Dead:

CD116 - Arista 1981

Go to the shop




Disc 1:
1. Dire Wolf
2. The Race Is On
3. Oh Babe It Ainít No Lie
4. It Must Have Been The Roses
5. Dark Hollow
6. China Doll
7. Been All Around This World
8. Monkey And The Engineer
9. Jack-A-Roe
10. Deep Elem Blues
11. Cassidy
12. To Lay Me Down
13. Rosalie McFall
14. On The Road Again
15. Bird Song
16. Ripple

1. To Lay Me Down (Studio Rehearsal)
2. Iko Iko
3. Heaven Help The Fool
4. El Paso
5. Sage & Spirit
6. Little Sadie
7. It Must Have Been The Roses (Alternate Live Version)
8. Dark Hollow (Alternate Live Version)
9. Jack-A-Roe (Alternate Live Version)
10. Cassidy (Alternate Live Version)
11. China Doll (Alternate Live Version)
12. Monkey And The Engineer (Alternate Live Version)
13. Oh Babe It Ainít No Lie (Alternate Live Version)
14. Ripple (Alternate Live Version)
15. Tom Dooley (Live, 1978)
16. Deep Elem Blues (Alternate Live Version, 1978)

Blair Jackson's review: ****½
copyright: www.blairjackson.comm


A wonderful live acoustic record culled from the Dead's 15th anniversary concerts at the Warfield Theater and Radio City Music Hall. (You can tell which songs were recorded where by listening to how noisy the crowd is ó the New York cuts have more whistling, clapping and a higher noise floor in general.) Originally a double-album, it's now a single CD (with "Oh, Babe It Ain't No Lie" dropped from the original lineup so it could fit on one disc). It mixes traditional folk and country tunes such as "Deep Elem Blues," "The Race Is On," "Rosalie McFall" and "Been All Around This World," with cleverly acousticized Dead tunes including "China Doll," "To Lay Me Down," "Bird Song," "Cassidy" and "Ripple." A personal favorite; great on Sunday mornings!